You are here: Home Members Full Members Australia


Australian Human Rights Commission

APF Membership

Full Member


1996 (Founding Member)


The Australian Human Rights Commission is an independent statutory body established by Australia’s federal Parliament under the Australian Human Rights Commission Act 1986.

It has four key areas of responsibility:

  • human rights education and public awareness
  • resolving complaints of discrimination and human rights violations
  • promoting human rights compliance
  • contributing to policy and legislative development.

Role and Functions

The Commission is responsible for inquiring into alleged infringements under the following federal laws:

It also has functions to foster public discussion; undertake and coordinate research and educational programs; conduct national inquiries on human rights and issues of major importance; review, propose or advise on legislation relating to human rights and to monitor its implementation; and make recommendations to government on policies and proposals related to human rights and discrimination issues.

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner has a specific function to monitor the human rights situation and issues facing Indigenous Australians.

Commission Members

Professor Gillian Triggs
President and Human Rights Commissioner

Graeme Innes AM
Disability Discrimination Commissioner

Mick Gooda
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner

Elizabeth Broderick
Sex Discrimination Commissioner

The Hon Susan Ryan AO
Age Discrimination Commissioner

Tim Wilson
Human Rights Commissioner

Dr Tim Soutphommasane
Race Discrimination Commissioner

Megan Mitchell
Children's Commissioner