:الترجمات المتاحة
:الترجمات المتاحة English العربيّة

صحيفة الوقائع 3: أهمية الاستقلال

الجرافيك Chairperson of Nepal's NHRI addresses the media

  1. تشترط مبادئ باريس أن تتمتع المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان بالاستقلالية في القانون والعضوية والعمليات والسياسة والسيطرة على مواردها.
  2. يتطلب الاستقلال الحقيقي تفكيراً مستقلاً، بالإضافة إلى المتطلبات الرسمية للاستقلالية المنصوص عليها في مبادئ باريس.
  3. يمكن للمؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان أن تدعو إلى تعزيز ضمانات الاستقلالية في تشريعاتها التأسيسية.

الاستقلالية هو الشرط الأول والأكثر أهمية لمؤسسة وطنية فعالة في حقوق الإنسان (NHRI).

على الرغم من قيام الدولة بإنشاء المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان، إلا أنها يجب أن تكون مستقلة وتعمل بشكل مستقل عن جميع المؤسسات والوكالات الحكومية وغير الحكومية.

الاستقلال الحقيقي أمر أساسي لنجاح ومصداقية مؤسسة ما. فلا يمكن لأي مؤسسة تعمل بشكل غير مستقل أن تكون فعالة في عملها.

تحدد مبادئ باريس الضمانات الضرورية للاستقلال التي يجب تقديمها للمؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان.


"الاستقلال هو دون شك العنصر الوحيد الأكثر أهمية في مبادئ باريس. إذا لم تكن المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان مستقلة، بكل طريقة ممكنة، فلن تكون إلا مجرد ذراع للحكومة".

كريس سيدوتي ، خبير استشاري لمنتدى آسيا والمحيط الهادئ في المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان


الاستقلال القانوني

يصف الاستقلال القانوني القاعدة الأساسية الذي يتم على أساسها إنشاء المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان وضمانات الاستقلالية الممنوحة لها. تنص مبادئ باريس على أن الإنشاء بواسطة وثيقة تنفيذية - على سبيل المثال ، مرسوم أو أمر رئاسي - غير مناسب أو مقبول.

على نحو متزايد، يتم إنشاء المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان بموجب دستور دولتها. وينظر إلى هذا على أنه يوفر ضماناً أكبر للاستقلالية من الإنشاء بسن التشريع. بشكل عام ، من الصعب تعديل الدساتير أكثر من التشريعات العادية، والتي يمكن أن توفر للمؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان حماية أكبر ضد الحكومات المعادية لعملها.

الاستقلال التشغيلي

الاستقلالية التشغيلية تعني أن المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان قادرة على تحديد أولوياتها وبرامجها ومشاريعها الخاصة.

وكما هو الحال في مذكرة مبادئ باريس، ينبغي تمكين المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان من "النظر بشكل حر في أية أسئلة تقع ضمن اختصاصها". علاوة على ذلك ، ينبغي أن يكونوا قادرين على تحديد أي من وظائفهم تعطى الأولوية في أداء ولايتهم.

إذا تمكنت أي حكومة من التدخل وتوجيه مؤسسة وطنية لحقوق الإنسان فيما يتعلق بما يجب فحصه وما يجب فعله ، فلن تكون المؤسسة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان حرة في تحديد القضايا التي تهمها وتتصرف على أساس قراراتها الخاصة. فلا يوجد استقلالية للمؤسسة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان إذا ما تم توجيهها في ما يجب القيام به.


Graphic: ملصق يبرز عمل المعهد الوطني لحقوق الإنسان في الفلبين لحماية حقوق الإنسان في البلاد


استقلال السياسة

تعني استقلالية السياسة أن تحدد المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان سياساتها ونتائج أعمالها واستنتاجاتها وتوصياتها في سياق عملها، سواء في تقديم المشورة للبرلمانات والحكومات في إجراء التحقيقات والمساءلة أو في التعامل مع الشكاوى الفردية المتعلقة بانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.

المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان هم خبراء حقوق الإنسان في بلدانهم. وينبغي أن تلتمس مؤسسات الدولة والمحاكم والمجتمع المدني وجهات أخرى مشورتها عند النظر في مسألة ما أو قضية تتعلق بحقوق الإنسان.

الاستقلال المالي

المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان ليست مستقلة بالكامل من الناحية المالية. فهي مؤسسات تابعة للدولة وتعتمد على الدول - الحكومات والبرلمانات - لتوفير ميزانياتها التشغيلية الأساسية.

تنص مبادئ باريس على أنه ينبغي أن يكون لدى المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان "تمويل كافٍ ... لتمكينها من تعيين موظفيها واماكن عملها الخاصة بها، حتى تكون مستقلة عن الحكومة ولا تخضع للرقابة المالية التي قد تؤثر على استقلاليتها".

طبيعة الاستقلال المالي معقدة. تحدد الدول ميزانياتها، وفقا لأولوياتها الخاصة والموارد المتاحة لها. لا يمكن للمؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان أن تطلب من حكومتها أو برلمانها تخصيص مبلغ محدد من التمويل ، فقط أن المبلغ "ملائم" لاحتياجاتها. ومع ذلك ، فإن اشتراط الاستقلالية يعني أنه ينبغي للمؤسسات الوطنية أن تتحكم في ميزانياتها بمجرد تخصيصها.


Graphic: سجينان في فناء السجن


أعضاء مستقلين

إن أعضاء المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان هم المسؤولون عن تحديد السياسات والبرامج والأساليب التشغيلية وأنشطة مؤسساتهم ، فضلاً عن النتائج والاستنتاجات والتوصيات عند قيامهم بالتحقيق في قضايا أو حالات انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. قراراتهم أساسية لمصداقية وفعالية مؤسساتهم الوطنية.

ومن المهم للغاية، أن تكون هناك عملية اختيار وتعيين واضحة وشفافة وتشاركية لأعضاء المؤسسات الوطنية، مع السعي لمقدمي الطلبات على نطاق واسع ومن مجموعة واسعة من الفئات الاجتماعية.

الضمانات القانونية لاستقلالية أعضاء المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان يمكن ضمانه أيضًا من خلال فترات زمنية محددة؛ بموجب إجراءات خاصة لفصلهم، إذا لزم الأمر؛ والحماية من الإجراءات القانونية الناشئة عن أداء وظائفهم المتعلقة بالقانون.

التفكير المستقل

يحتاج أعضاء المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان إلى التفكير بشكل مستقل. في كثير من النواحي، تعد هذه الخاصية الشخصية أكثر أهمية من أي ضمانات قانونية. سوف يعمل الأعضاء المستقلون في تفكيرهم حول حل القيود المفروضة في القانون، في حين لا يوجد قانون، مهما كان قويا، يشجع أولئك الذين ليسوا من ذوي التفكير المستقل.

يصف التفكير المستقل الموقف الذي يجلبه أعضاء وموظفو المؤسسة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان إلى عملهم. إنها سمة أساسية لأية مؤسسة وطنية لحقوق الإنسان فعالة وكونها الضمانة الأكثر أهمية للاستقلال الحقيقي.

إذا اعتبر الأعضاء والموظفون أنفسهم مدافعين عن النظام السياسي الحالي، أو إذا اعتبروا أنفسهم تحت التزام ما تجاه الحكومة، فلا يمكن أن يكونوا مستقلين، بغض النظر عن مدى التزام المؤسسة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان بمبادئ باريس.

القيود على الاستقلال

لدى البرلمانات والحكومات أدوار دستورية فيما يتعلق بالقانون والتعيينات القانونية ومخصصات الميزانية. يمكنهم ممارسة هذه الأدوار بطرق تؤثر على استقلالية المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان.

لا تستطيع المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان وضع القانون وتعيين أعضائها وتحديد ميزانياتها الخاصة. ولذلك ، من المهم زيادة استقلالية المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان عن طريق ضمان أن تكون القوانين التي تنشئها سليمة وأن تكون عمليات التعيين والميزانية شفافة وشاملة.


اكتشف المزيد

الفصول 3 و 5 و 6 ، دليل عن المؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان (APF ، منقح 2018)


مصادر الصورة

  1. Chairperson of Nepal's NHRI addresses the media - National Human Rights Commission of Nepal
  2. ملصق يبرز عمل المعهد الوطني لحقوق الإنسان في الفلبين لحماية حقوق الإنسان في البلاد - لجنة حقوق الإنسان في الفلبين
  3. سجينان في فناء السجن - منتدى آسيا والمحيط الهادئ

Available translations: English العربيّة

Fact Sheet 3: The importance of independence

Graphic: Chairperson of Nepal's NHRI addresses the media

  1. The Paris Principles require that NHRIs have independence in law, membership, operations, policy and control over their resources.
  2. True independence requires independent thinking, in addition to the formal requirements of independence set out in the Paris Principles.
  3. NHRIs can advocate for guarantees of independence to be strengthened in their establishing legislation.

Independence is the first and most essential requirement for an effective national human rights institution (NHRI).

Although NHRIs are established by the State, they must be independent and act independently from all other governmental and non-governmental institutions and agencies.

True independence is fundamental to the success and credibility of an institution. An institution that cannot operate independently cannot be effective.

The Paris Principles set out the necessary guarantees of independence that must be provided to NHRIs.


"Independence is without doubt the single most important component of the Paris Principles. Unless national human rights institutions are independent, in every possible way, they are no more than an arm of the government."

Chris Sidoti, APF Expert Consultant on NHRIs


LEGAL INDEPENDENCE

Legal independence describes the basis on which NHRIs are established and the guarantees of independence given to them. The Paris Principles state that establishment by an executive instrument – for example, a presidential decree or order – is not adequate or acceptable.

Increasingly, NHRIs are established under the constitution of their State. This is seen as providing a greater guarantee of independence than establishment by the enactment of legislation. In general, constitutions are more difficult to amend than ordinary legislation, which can provide NHRIs greater protection against governments hostile to their work.

OPERATIONAL INDEPENDENCE

Operational independence means that NHRIs are able to determine their own priorities, programs and projects.

As the Paris Principles note, NHRIs should be empowered to "[f]reely consider any questions falling within [their] competence". Further, they should be able to determine which of their functions is given priority in the performance of their mandate.

If a government can interfere and direct an NHRI regarding what to examine or what to do, the NHRI will not be free to identify issues of concern and act on the basis of its own decisions. There is no independence where an NHRI can be directed what to do.


Graphic: Poster highlights of the work of the Philippines' NHRI to protect human rights in the country


POLICY INDEPENDENCE

Policy independence means that NHRIs determine their policies and their findings, conclusions and recommendations in the course of their work, whether in providing advice to parliaments and governments, in undertaking investigations and inquiries or in handling individual complaints of human rights violations.

NHRIs are the human rights experts in their countries. Their advice should be sought by State institutions, courts, civil society and others when a human rights issue or case is being considered.

FINANCIAL INDEPENDENCE

NHRIs are not entirely independent financially. They are State institutions and they rely on States – governments and parliaments – to provide their core operational budgets.

The Paris Principles state that an NHRI should have "adequate funding … to enable it to have its own staff and premises, in order to be independent of the Government and not be subject to financial control which might affect its independence".

The nature of financial independence is complex. States determine their budgets, according to their own priorities and to the resources available to them. An NHRI cannot require its government or its parliament to allocate a specific amount of funding, only that the amount is "adequate" to its needs. The requirement of independence, however, means that NHRIs should have control over their budgets once they are allocated.


Graphic: Two inmates in a prison courtyard


INDEPENDENT MEMBERS

It is NHRI members who are responsible for determining the policies, programs, operational methods and activities of their institutions, as well as findings, conclusions and recommendations when they investigate cases or situations of human rights violations. Their decisions are fundamental to the credibility and effectiveness of their NHRIs.

It is critically important, therefore, that there is a clear, transparent and participatory selection and appointment process for NHRI members, with applicants sought broadly and from a wide range of social groups.

Legal guarantees of independence of NHRI members can also be ensured through fixed terms of offices; by special procedures for their dismissal, if and when necessary; and by protection from legal action arising from the performance of their statutory functions.

INDEPENDENT THINKING

NHRI members need to be independently minded. In many respects, this personal quality is even more important than any legal guarantees. Independently-minded members will work around limitations in the law, while no law, no matter how strong, will embolden those who are not independently minded.

Independent thinking describes the attitude that members and staff of an NHRI bring to their work. It is an essential attribute of any NHRI that is effective and the most significant guarantee of true independence.

If members and staff see themselves as defenders of the current political system, or if they consider themselves as being under some form of obligation to the government, then they cannot be independent, no matter how closely the NHRI complies with the Paris Principles.

LIMITATIONS ON INDEPENDENCE

Parliaments and governments have constitutional roles in relation to the law, statutory appointments and budgetary allocations. They can exercise these roles in ways that affect the independence of NHRIs.

NHRIs cannot make law, appoint their own members and determine their own budgets. It is important, therefore, to maximise the independence of NHRIs by ensuring that the laws establishing them are sound and the processes for appointments and budgeting are transparent and inclusive.


FIND OUT MORE

Chapters 3, 5 & 6, A Manual on National Human Rights Institutions (APF, revised 2018)


Image credits

  1. Chairperson of Nepal's NHRI addresses the media - National Human Rights Commission of Nepal
  2. Poster highlights of the work of the Philippines' NHRI to protect human rights in the country - Commission on Human Rights of the Philippines
  3. Two inmates in a prison courtyard - APF