APF Community Contact us


Graphic: AIHRC leadership team

Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission Full Member since 2005.

Faiz Mohammad Kateb Road
In between Supreme Audit Office & Ministry of Rural Rehabilitation and Development (MRRD),
District 6, Darulaman Road
P: +93 (20) 250 0676 F: +93 (20) 250 0677 W: www.aihrc.org.af


APF condemns Taliban decision to dissolve Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission

19 May 2022 Afghanistan

APF seeking consultants to support the Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission

21 Mar 2022 Afghanistan

Afghanistan: AIHRC Chairperson's statement to Human Rights Council

20 Dec 2021 Afghanistan

APF seeking consultant to support Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission

12 Oct 2021 Afghanistan
More articles

APF membership

Currently suspended. Full Membership from 2005-2022; Associate Membership from 2004-2005.


The Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission was established under the Bonn Agreement and commenced operations following a Decree of the President of the Interim Administration of Afghanistan on 6 June 2002.

On 7 January 2004, the Commission became constitutionally entrenched following the adoption of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan by the Loya Jirgah (the Afghan Grand Assembly).

The Commission's establishing legislation – the Law on the Structure, Duties and Mandate of the Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission – was adopted by the Afghanistan Cabinet and enacted by the President of Afghanistan on 2 May 2005.

Role and functions

The Commission has a broad mandate that includes:

  • monitoring the situation of human rights in the country
  • promoting and protecting human rights
  • monitoring the situation of and people's access to their fundamental rights and freedoms
  • investigating and verifying cases of human rights violations
  • taking measures for the improvement and promotion of the human rights situation in the country.

Judicial and prosecutorial bodies, ministries, governmental agencies, civil society groups, non-governmental organisations and all citizens are obliged to cooperate with the Commission.


Shaharzad Akbar

Asadullah Yusufi

Benafsha Yaqubi

Muhammad Ayub Yusufzai

Sayed Ehsan Khaleq

Shabnam Salehi

Shukrullah Mashkur

Muhammad Nayem Nazari

Razia Sayad

Dr Sima Samar, Chairperson of the Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission, describes the challenges of protecting human rights and promoting accountability in a country "where there is no rule of law".

Image credits

  1. AIHRC leadership team - AIHRC